Recipe #12: Lemon & Garlic Pasta with Butternut

DSC_0667I’ve been working from home today. It’s been snowing and it’s freezing outside, so I spent the day huddled at my desk in a dressing down and scarf, sipping lots of tea.

Sipping tea from my Cath Kidston mugs

Sipping tea from my Cath Kidston mugs


All I’d eaten before dinner was a piece of toast, three crackers with cheese and chutney and some fruit. Not a lot. When the clock struck six and I’d packed my work away, I was famished. It was time for a super speedy tea.

See, look at the snow!

See, look at the snow!

I wanted something quick and easy to make tonight, and I needed to use the butternut squash left over from my butternut and applewood tart, so I decided to make some lemon and garlic pasta. Yum! Such a cheap meal too – for two portions it cost less than £1.50 to make. Here’s how I made it, I’d recommend it:

Enough pasta for two people
A few big glugs of olive oil
Two cloves of pasta
1/2 tspn flat leaf parsley
A lemon
1/2 a green pepper, finely chopped
Salt and pepper
Butternut squash (I used half a large one)
A cheese of your choice

Method:

  1. Cut your butternut squash into small cube chunks, place on a baking tray and drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and roast in the over at 180 degrees for 30 mins. 
  2. When your butternut squash has been in the oven for 15 minutes, put your pasta on a mid-high heat (I don’t need to tell you how to cook that, I’m sure). In a shallow pan, add some oil and fry off your green peppers on a medium heat.
  3. To make your pasta sauce, add your olive oil into a pestle and mortar. Squeeze in the juice of your lemon, add your cloves of garlic, crushed, some salt, 1/2  tspn of parsley and a good helping of black pepper. Mix and crush your garlic into your sauce and place to one side.
  4. Once your pasta is cooked, drain it off and put back in the pan. Add your peppers, sauce and heat on the hob for 3-4 minutes or until hot. Serve on your plate, place your butternut squash on top and a sprinkling of your chosen cheese.
  5. Enjoy!

If you’re still feeling pecking after your pasta, wash it down with a yummy Malteaster – a great accompaniment to blogging.

Chocolate and blogging

Chocolate and blogging

Until tomorrow,

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS