It’s time I told you about ‘THE Dan Special’

You must know the feeling. You get home from work and you don’t want cook. Head pounding after a day of thinking about stuff, the last thing you want to do is use up more of your thinking power contemplating food. “I just wanna EAT” tends to be my phrase of choice on hurty head nights like tonight. All I want to do is eat, blog and sleep. That’s not too much to ask.

On such nights, I have go to food and a chef to boot [a.k.a. The Boy]. After being kicked out of the kitchen most nights of the week, Dan is happy to play with pots, pans, plates and ingredients to cook us up some treats. It’s usually boy food and lazy tea type things, that’s unless he’s cooking a corned beef hash or cottage pie. He’s not to shabby in the kitchen – the problem is that I never let him near it!

That said, there is one meal in Dan’s repertoire that I will never challenge, because I will be unable to make it more perfect that it already is. I will never try to make it, because it wouldn’t be the same. It’s a dish so scrumptious that when my cravings for it come around, they have to be quenched. “Oh what do you call this wonderful dish?” I hear you say. It’s known simply as ‘The Dan Special’.

Dan special2

The Dan Special is a greasy plate of buttered toast, mulched piping hot beans and a sunny egg, served with a dollop of dirty ketchup. THIS is the hangover cure of all hangover cures. THIS is the medicine for any lowly fiance in need of a TV dinner in her PJs. On nights like tonight only toast, beans and eggs, cooked by Dan, will do.

Dan SpecialIt did the trick. By 9pm I hope to be in bed, watching TV and drifting off to the land of nod. This dish always makes me feel better!

What’s your ‘go to’ meal on a hurty head night? What do you get your better half, friend, parents or housemate to cook up when you really don’t want to go near the kitchen?

Hayley Jayne x

6 Responses to “It’s time I told you about ‘THE Dan Special’”

  1. bethyboodle

    I love that – the “Dan Special” – so cute! 🙂 Usually my husband and I cook dinner together (although he’s definitely the chef!), but our double-hurty-head night go to meal is spicy tomato soup (sautee chopped onion, minced garlic, and cubed carrots in olive oil – add marinara sauce, chicken broth, crushed red peppers, and any other spices to taste) with grilled cheese. It’s quick, simple, and not too much thinking involved – perfect for a lazy night, and especially perfect during the chilly winter.

    Reply
    • hayleyjaynefood

      Good choice! Tomato soup is always amazing for hurty head night… ‘spicy’ tomato soup sounds even better! I’ll give a whirl next time 🙂 xx

      Reply
  2. Irene

    It’s a very cute name, not to mention the meal looks pretty good to me. The egg is done perfectly. We all have our lazy night and this looks like a cozy and cuddly one 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

