Foodies have gotta keep fit ya’ll

Walking in the snow

Walking in the snow.

Loving food does have its draw backs. My metabolism has never been great and, if I’m not careful, by the end if this year my food challenge will make me fat. And that just would not do.

So, in amongst all of my indulgent foodie musings, I feel I have a responsibility to tell you to eat sensibly and exercise – otherwise your jeans will become tight, your face will balloon and you could end up at serious risk of exploding.

How do I stay slim(ish). Well I don’t eat loads… on my average work day I’ll have a yoghurt for breakfast, fruit for brunch, a sandwich for lunch and fruit through the afternoon. If I stick to this, by tea time I’m famished and ready for a hearty meal. I also try my best not to snack before bed, although I make an exception in Winter when it’s really cold because our apartment is freezing and I need the extra energy to keep warm.

If your face isn't muddy, you haven't ridden hard enough!

If your face isn’t muddy, you haven’t ridden hard enough!

I get in 40 mins of walking each day down to the tram stop and back. It’s up hill all the way home, so I try to power walk and get it up to enough of a pace for me to feel slightly out of breath. On top of that, we try and walk or ride every weekend. I hate it when we don’t get an hour on the bike or a few hours on foot, even if it’s just down into town an back – we can easily clock up 5 miles without even realising.

Bike rie at Ladybower

Bike rie at Ladybower

Gym memberships or personal trainers just aren’t an option for me at the moment, so my other ‘keep fit’ trick is my home stepping machine. I’ve had it for a good 4 years now and it’s served me well. I try and do at least two 30 min sessions each week. I’d love to go to the gym, but time and money don’t allow, so I make do with what I have instead. It seems to work well enough!

If you want to eat loads, you gotta exercise. We’re lucky to be able to enjoy and experiment with out food… for us it’s a luxury, above and beyond a necessity. With that in mind it’s important to remember that greed gets us nowhere and exercise allows us to indluge that little bit more… but only a little.

Foodies – how do you make sure you eat well and keep fit?

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Foodies have gotta keep fit ya’ll”

  1. Hannah Hassack (@HannahRuthPR)

    I couldn’t agree more about exercising being important when you love food! And your day sounds similar to mine in terms of meals and excercise too – when I started working back in Sheffield I started walking to work and it made such a difference to my metabolism as its about 45 mins each way. I run twice a week (when I can), play netball once a week and try and do one other form of excercise. Recently have been experiementing with more varied and more relaxing excercise like swimming, as some days I can’t face anything intense but I have to do SOMETHING or I go crazy! I think fun/relaxed excercise is important too – I used to run 4 or 5 times a week but it just wasn’t sustainable and i’m happier now doing a variety of stuff.
    Weekends I relax more and we tend to have a big carb & treats fest on a Friday night/Saturday but I know I’ll run it off Sunday! Yay to eating a lot AND doing a lot 🙂
    xxxx

    Reply
  2. bethyboodle

    I love your tips! My food schedule is almost the same as yours – breakfast yogurt, fruit/unsalted peanut snack, sandwich, more snack, and then whatever is for dinner. 🙂 Great minds think alike? I do, however, need to make more time for exercise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

