Merry Christmas. Eat. Drink. Think of those less fortunate…

ec056df861635b229ab666cf34a0ad7b

Christmas. The one day of the year we all stop, the shops shut and we all settle down for a day with our families. We eat, drink and be merry. Give extravagant gifts (a trend we’ve gracefully avoided this year – time is worth so much more than money) and see people we struggle to see the rest of the year.

I used to hate Christmas. After losing our Mum, a once loved traditional Christmas never quite felt the same. Christmas became such a lonely time of the year for me, until only a few years ago I’d miss her so much and hide until it was over. Whilst I don’t feel sad during the festive season anymore, I can’t help but think of those who aren’t having a Merry Christmas and count my blessings that, with a bit of patience, things worked out perfectly for me in the end. Dan’s Mum cooked a wonderful Christmas dinner and even cooked me some duck to replace the turkey I don’t like. I opened some thoughtful gifts, as you’d expect I got a few new cook books, AND I get to do it all over again with my own family in a few days time. I’m very blessed and I bet you are too. So please, spare a thought for those who aren’t as lucky as you today, and hope that they can hold out for a better Christmas in 2014.

Have wonderful day and expect some post-Christmas day foodie musings to round of the end of my challenge soon.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

