‘Sagging’, ‘Stripping’ and my first cup of tea

1491726_10153607589100024_1482280049_n

Today was the first full day decorating in our new house. I’m shattered, my throat is killing and I can’t stop coughing from all the dust we’ve pulled up. We’ve scrubbed the kitchen and started painting and I’ve begun stripping the wallpaper back in the bedroom and hallway. It’s looking good. It’s starting to feel like home – to the point where we’ve moved in our dining table and had a takeaway there with friends this evening. It was lovely! I even had my first ‘sit down with a cup of tea’ – it was 5 minutes of bliss!

As much as I’m excited about our new house, I’m also worried about our ‘saggy floor’. The whole living room floor slopes towards chimney breast – I think this is normal in old houses but it’s a big slope – it reminds me of that scene in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where the room gets smaller. Gulp! We’re probably going to have to ‘jack it up’ – which sounds expensive. The scariest thing about buying a house is that you’re 100% responsible for it. If a job needs doing and it’s expensive – you’re paying for it. Not too sure how normal saggy floors are – if you know anything about this in Victorian houses, enlighten me. Time to call out an engineer I think!

Need sleep!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

