Let the fattening season commence!

quote-snow-street-text-winter-Favim.com-260428

I don’t know about you, but today is the first day I have properly felt the harsh bite of winter on my way to work. It’s the time of year when I refuse to go outdoors without two layers on and I feel like a successful polar-adventurer each day I arrive in to the office on time.

My body is ready for fattening season – and it’s up to me whether or not I feed its urge to keep me warm, or I ignore it and stay hungry. In all honesty there’s nothing better than a face full of carbs after braving it into the warmth after a long day. It’s evolutionary and to refuse it goes against nature if you ask me. Why do we feel the need to carb up in the Winter months?

I’ve done some research and gaining weight in Winter is normal and healthy. We live on a planet where the seasons change rapidly and both temperature and levels of sunshine impact on our desire to eat certain foods. One chap thinks that serotonin is to blame for our carb cravings in winter – whilst in the summer this is regulated by the bright light of the sun. In winter when there is less light, and less skin on show to absorb it, our body looks to sugar and carbs to trigger this chemical. That’s no excuse though. Packing away stodge without exercise WILL make you fat. Still, eating that pizza feels good right? You’ve got to find your own way of managing winter food cravings I suppose.

Winter is my excuse to gain a few pounds – what with Christmas, lazy nights in front of films and catch ups with friends – why not? I mean, I walk over 2.5 miles each day in the cold – those extra few pounds will no doubt help keep me warm when the bus is late. I usually lose it all by March and I’m quickly back to my size 10 self by the summer!

How about you? Are you ready for winter’s fattening season?

Now, off to stuff my face with carbs!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

