Don’t just drink your usual…

ginmonkey2mffI’ve worked in the alcohol industry for er, 5 weeks now. I’m no expert on alcohol as a subject at all… not at all. However, over the last few weeks I’ve realised just how many drinks, flavours and combinations there are to explore. It’s made me realise just how boring sticking to your usual on a night out is.

My Mum was one ‘stick to what you know’ people. Before a night out she’d drink Lambrini, and on a night out she’d drink half a larger and black. The only time she’d try something different was at Christmas – maybe some Stella, Egg Nog or whisky. I’ve already told you she was the same with food.

Me? Well I used to be one of these types too. I’d drink Malibu and diet coke and shot sambuca. I quickly moved onto a few years of wine and/or tequila before starting to explore with my drink. To some degree it comes with the territory or earning a little more money. I wrote in a feature the other day something about people being more willing to invest in flavours they know and love – there’s less of risk of not liking it. I suppose this is why people stick to what they know – but like I say, this is boring.

So what should you try? Well you should go on a mission to find you favourite of the following, including some of my favourites to get you started:

  • Cider (Pear Kopperberg)
  • Liqueur (Frangelico)
  • Red wine (Temperanillo)
  • White wine (I draw the line at trying to like white wine but I’ll drink Prosecco)
  • Rose wine (Pink Moscato)
  • Spirit beer (Amigos – totally not biased in any way)
  • Fizzy ready to drink (Hoopers or Crabbies Ginger Beer)
  • Spirit (Gin)
  • Pint (Fruili if it’s on tap)
  • Cocktail (Pina Colada)
  • I could go on…

What’s your favourite alcoholic tipple?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

