Do more of what makes you happy…

il_fullxfull.360043872_rbsl

This week marks eight years since we lost our Mum. I usually use this time to reflect on how far I’ve come… My life as I know it started when she died and looking back on my epic journey from their to now helps me to put my life, loves and happiness into perspective. Right now, I wouldn’t say I was the happiest I’ve ever been. I mean, I have my dream job, a wonderful fiancé, a beautiful home and a bright future… But I have something bringing me down – it’s not really blogable information, but none the less is making me question who I am and challenging my identity in ways I never thought possible. Life’s a funny old carry on sometimes… Well mine is…. Always!

Anyhow, upon reflection I would say that the past 12 months have had an unintentional theme… It’s been the year of doing more of what makes me happy. Seeing friends makes me happy. Food makes me happy. Live music makes me happy. Home makes me happy. For the first time, I’ve carved out a career that makes me happy. From Uni life to adulthood the last 12 months have seen me carve out new avenues of happiness. Dan, my sisters, friends and my blog are all to thank for supporting me in that.

The next year until my annual reflection is looming and I hope it holds a sense of calm, some answers and a holiday to somewhere hot. I say it every year… My Mum would be inexplicably proud of what I’ve achieved – and she’d love my blog, I’m sure of it.

If you need a new mantra live by, make it “Do more of what makes you happy.” Even better… Make it food related! Life’s just too short to be sad!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Do more of what makes you happy…”

  1. sarahnsh

    I’ve always been someone to live by do whatever makes you happy, whatever that may be. And, if you don’t know what makes you happy then find it because life is too short to be doing stuff or be in a career that doesn’t make you happy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

