Recipe #95: Pineapple upside down cake

DSC_0917

My baking bug continues this weekend. After yesterday’s carrot cake I’ve stuck with something moderately healthy and gone for a pineapple upside down cake (well it’s got fruit in it – a few slices should easily add up to one of my five-a-day). I’ve never made one before, even though it’s a classic British cake. I’ve never even had one before (I know, that’s terrible right?!). I think it tastes how it’s supposed to, which is totally frickin’ tasty… although I adapted my cooking method to make sure it was cooked all the way through.

To make it you’ll need:

  • One tin of pineapple rings
  • Some baking cherries
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar (for the topping)
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 175g butter
  • 200g plain four
  • 4 eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tsp baking powder

Method

  1. Grease a 23 inch spring formed cake tin with butter and sprinkle with caster sugar, shaking from side to side to ensure it’s evenly covered. Lay out your pineapple rings and pop some cherries in the gaps around the cake.
  2. In a mixer combine your cake ingredients (I’d throw it all in and whisk to save complication). Whizz for a few minutes to make sure it’s well combined and spoon on top of your fruit.
  3. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes and turn out onto a wire rack. If your cake isn’t cooked through on top, like mine, pop back in the oven for a short while longer (I put mine in for an extra 10 minutes).
  4. Once baked, enjoy whilst hot with a cup of tea.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

