Three years together. Three years until our wedding.

a4e40c135bd176d96b6b8c7625fa1773

Today is our three year anniversary. Three years today, me and Dan met outside Sheffield Hallam’s main door for our first date. Dan had a hangover. I felt sick with nerves. We went to The Old House and talked about everything, from siblings to Radiohead. We had our second date the week after, and on our third date, Dan met me on a night out, took me home and fell asleep on my bed whilst I was passed out in the bathroom after throwing up EVERYWHERE. I came round a few hours later, feeling like death and looking like Edward Scissor Hands meets Freddy Krueger. He still liked me and wanted a fourth date, despite my terrible drunken behaviour… and we never looked back.

It’s weird when you’ve been with someone for so long. You grow together, explore new interests and develop a mutual appreciation for life, and the things in it. I love Dan’s outlook on life – the fact that he doesn’t subscribe to mainstream rubbish, or feel the need to be like anyone else. He sees through the need to fill life with the same material things as everyone else… and instead focuses on experiences – like bike rides, the way certain songs make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end… and how a breathtaking view makes you feel so happy to be alive. Dan’s changed me and made me a better person. Three years ago I was a mere shadow of who and what I am today… I’m confident, content and appreciate the simple things in life… and I have a best friend to enjoy those simple things with.

My Food Challenge isn’t just my doing. Dan is there to share the exciting times with and has been there on ever step of my food journey – like hitting 20K and 30K views, and getting mentioned on exciting websites. He comes with me to food events and washes up when I want to try out a new recipe for a post. When I have no motivation after a long day at work, Dan keeps me going and has supported me every step of the way. I can’t take all of the credit… behind every good food blogger, is a loved one who’s good at washing up!

And yes, we’re getting married. Not yet though… three years this month (we hope). Ok, so it’s a long way away but these things aren’t cheap and we’re planning something pretty special. I really can’t wait!

So, all that’s left to say is ‘Happy Anniversary Dan’! Here’s to three more amazing years until our wedding day…

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

7 Responses to “Three years together. Three years until our wedding.”

  1. My Gluten Free Journey

    Love this, my husband and I have been together six years and got married last December 12/12/2012. I am eagerly awaiting our first anniversary trying to think of an amazing present.
    Love all the exciting times and memories of all the crazy things you have done together especially first dates.
    Enjoy wedding planning it goes by so fast.
    Clare x

    Reply
  2. Rosie

    I met my boyfriend in Freshers’ Week too, at Sheffield Uni. We celebrated seven years together this weekend and I really don’t know what I’d do without him, I know exactly what you mean about becoming a better person xx

    Reply
  3. jennypugh

    Congratulations! Next month it will be 3 years since I married my best friend and soulmate, and in December we’ll have been together for 5 years. I was a rubbish version of myself when we met and over the years, he has helped me to become the happy centred person I am today. Happy anniversary, getting married is the greatest gift in the world xx

    Reply
    • hayleyjaynefood

      Oh wow – happy nearly anniversary to you guys too. We’re talking wedding planning and working out exactly what we want (and want to spend). I’m so excited about it xx

      Reply
      • jennypugh

        Thanks! Planning a wedding is so exciting and so crazy at the same time. The time will just flow by 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

