Recipe #88: Simple plum crumble

Clever One Pot cookbook

Clever One Pot cookbook

A few weeks ago the authors of Clever One Pot asked me if I wanted to review their recipe book. As the name suggests, it’s a book filled with simple recipes you can make in one pot. I’m a huge fan of keeping recipes simple and attainable – so I had one sent to me in the post.

I’ll give you a full review of the book soon, however I wanted to share this recipe with you that I’ve taken from their dessert section. I made it last night using juicy plums from Castle Market for our friends who are coming for dinner tonight. It was so easy to make, I rustled it up whilst watching TV and managed to fit in a shower whilst I part-baked it in the oven. If you’re looking for a sweet, simple winter-warming dessert I would recommend this. I’m serving it tonight with homemade double cream, with a hint of plum gin. Yum! I’ll be sure to post pictures on Instagram when it’s served up…

To make the crumble you’ll need:

For the base:

  • 8-10 plums
  • 4 tbps caster sugar

For the crumble:

  • 75g unsalted butter
  • 175g plain flour
  • 50g plain flour

Method:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees.
  2. Chop your plums in half, remove the stones and cut into quarters. Layout in an oven proof dish, add your caster sugar and combine well.
  3. In a mixing bowl rub together your flour and butter until you have bread crumbs. Stir in your caster sugar and lay out on top of your plums.
  4. To bake fully, put it in the oven for 40 mins or until it starts to brown on top. To part bake, leave it in the oven for just 25 minutes and remove. Bake for 20 mins to heat and finish baking when you’re ready to serve.

Right, off to cook the main for tonight. Have a lovely evening.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

