Recipe #86: Sardine omelette

1236312_10153210406930024_1875660794_n

You should all know by know that I love sardines, and I love omelette. The former, I didn’t eat until this year, and the latter I couldn’t cook until this year – so it’s safe to say that my blog is doing it’s job in helping me widen my food repertoire.

The inspiration for this dish came from having too much food in, and not a clue what to do with it. I started with meat, but realised it was all frozen, so moved on to tuna, but decided that the only think I’d want to make with tuna is fishcakes, and I don’t fancy them tonight – I then moved on to sardines. How could I say no? So I took to Google and searched for ‘canned sardine recipes’ and up popped this article from Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall – including a sardine omelette recipe. I love sardines AND I love omelette – it’s a no brainer.

Hugh’s recipe is very simple, and I wanted to add some vegetables to mine. I’ve adapted it to our dinner needs – however feel free to click here and view his recipe – it’s very good, and his daughter introduced it to him. Genius!

Here’s how I made it. You’ll need:

  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 tin of sardines in tomato sauce
  • 4 eggs
  • A little milk
  • A handful of mushrooms, chopped
  • A small amount of grated medium or mature cheddar
  • Salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Heat some butter in a frying pan. Add in your onions and gently fry, adding your chopped mushrooms after a few minutes.
  2. In a mixing bowl whisk your eggs, with your milk and stir in your cheese. Once your onions and mushrooms have started to cook, pour over your egg and cheese mixture.
  3. Open your sardine tin and use a fork to mash the contents. Carefully spoon in to your omelette to ensure it is evenly distributed.
  4. You know me – I like to give my omelettes a few minutes under the grill rather than flipping them so leave under your grill until the top is fully cooked.
  5. Serve and enjoy with boiled potatoes and salad!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “Recipe #86: Sardine omelette”

  1. Charlotte Jackson

    Hi, I’m going to make this tomorrow as lunch for my sister and me. I’m just wondering whether your recipe amounts are for one serving or two?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

