Q&A: My fiance on what it’s like to live with a food blogger

309237_10152058102550024_1725823671_n

Living with a food blogger has it’s ups and downs. While a tasty dish is never too far away, there’s the unavoidable risk that dishes will go wrong, a certainty that there will be pile after pile of washing up… and an acceptance that blogging will always come first… 

So Dan, what is it like to live with a food blogger?

Living with a food blogger makes life taste better and smell better. We’re healthier (although living on top of a hill helps that) and I’ve been introduced to more flavours and foods, and different ways of working with and processing food.

I’ve even learnt small things like to how use a knife properly (thanks to Jamie Oliver), just because I have more of a vested interest in food these days.

I’m not going to lie, it’s pretty hard sometimes as things need to be structured and made so you can write your blog, but it has it’s perks.

What did you think when I first told you I was going to blog about food every day for a year?

Go for it! It sounds awesome. I thought it could be a bit challenging, but that’s the idea of it. Your blog was always going to be a BIG thing – I never thought I’d learn this much though.

What’s your favourite thing about living with a food blogger?

We get to eat lots of nice food, which is great – but I like the time we have together making it. It’s not just about the end product; it’s about the process. Cooking is relaxing as all you have to think about is food – it’s our hobby now.

I also like the fact that we can look back at all the good things we’ve eaten – a history of my diet. That’s pretty cool.

What’s your least favourite thing about living with a food blogger? 

Washing up.

Favourite dish so far?

Easy – Your feta and butternut tart. I’m not massive on veggie food, but this is as good as some of the meat dishes you’ve made.

Best comedy moment so far?

That time you got really mad at me when you were cooking and threw a handful of crumbly pasta dough at the back of my head.

Do you feel under pressure to cook tastier meals now your missus blogs about food?

Yes, I do feel under pressure sometimes but I don’t cry about it! I know that if I give stuff a try I’ll be all right – the worst thing I can do is be lazy with food.

I can be quietly competitive sometimes and like it when you tell me it’s well seasoned as I know you’ve got better taste buds. But washing up is where I shine – you’re shit at washing up.

How has My Food Challenge changed you?

Well the obvious ones are that I’m healthier and my mind is broadened to different foods. I love having people round for food and we do it more often, that’s one of the perks. It’s also brought us closer together – I suppose this blog has become a big part of both of our lives.

Should I keep blogging about food into 2014?

YES! It would be nice for you to not have the pressure of blogging everyday, but it would be a shame not to continue with our food explorations. Maybe blog a few times a week.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

4 Responses to “Q&A: My fiance on what it’s like to live with a food blogger”

  1. Iris

    Such a lovely thing to read early in the morning. Goes to prove what I’ve always thought about food and cooking: there’s no better way to enjoy these things, than share them with someone you love. I wonder if my partner feels the same about his life with a food blogger! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

