Us vs Crab!

Image

Today we killed, cooked and gutted a crab. I expected it to be a little more Annie Hall than it was – however our crab had been kept on ice at Simmonites, and was a little docile. It was barely moving so luckily we didn’t have a crab chasing us around the kitchen. It just lay there, up side down on our chopping board, awaiting its death. What a lovely thought.

I didn’t name our crab as I didn’t want to get too attached to it. If I’m honest – it scared me. I call crabs ‘spiders of the sea’ so having one sitting on our kitchen work surface freaked me out a little. Dan handled it most of the time, I just boiled the kettle and watched Dan lower it into our pan. Quite an experience this cooking crab malarkey.

The opening was rather exciting. You take off the shell and reveal the crab within. I’m not going to tell you how to cook and gut a crab as I’m no expert. There’s a method to it. We followed this hand YouTube video, which takes you through the process step-by-step.

Using the meat I’ve made a lovely crab bolegnese type dish with homemade spaghetti. I’ll share the recipe with you tomorrow.

If you’ve never cooked crab before and you want to see what all the fuss is about, I’d recommend it. Go buy one and follow a YouTube video – it’s much easier than it looks. We bought ours from Simmonites for £3. Bargain.

What’s your favourite crab recipe?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Us vs Crab!”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

