Hello, my name is Hayley and I have a problem… With crisps

20130828-182253.jpg
Ok, so it’s time I fessed up about something. As much as I love food (and I really love food) I have a problem with people eating it. The sound of people crunching, slurping, sipping and scoffing drives me crazy. These sounds make me feel physically irked… Like I want to leap across the room and shut them up somehow. Dan thinks I’m crazy and my friends think I’m weird, but I’m not alone… It’s an actual thing – a neurological disorder experienced by people all around the world. Misophonia. I have misophonia.

With most foods I’m not too bad. I can handle gulping water, and someone scoffing a bar of chocolate – but when it comes to crisps, I really struggle. The sound of people eating crisps is enough to make my blood boil. I hate it. I really really hate it. Let’s get something straight, there’s nothing wrong with a bag of Kettle chips, as long as I’m eating them. My worst fear is someone sitting next to me on the train with a great big bag of crispy-munchiness. This happens from time to time and I have to concentrate really hard on not shouting at them… It’s so bad, I really want to move seats, but I’m usually sat by the window and I hate to be rude. The rustling of crisp bags is bad enough, but the crunch… the crunch makes me feel physically irritated and weird – I go into fight or flight move and my body starts pumping adrenaline around my veins. I can’t even begin to explain why I’m like this… Always have been, always will be – I’m a nightmare to live with.

Has anyone else experienced misophonia or is it just me? Please tell me I’m not the only person with a hatred of people eating crisps.

Next time you see me, please don’t scoff on a bag of crisps, unless you’re sharing them with me!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Hello, my name is Hayley and I have a problem… With crisps”

  1. ollie1975

    I feel your pain. I have it too. My father in-law sounds like he’s gargling gravel when he eats anything. When i hear an annoying sound, it’s all i can focus on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

