Big bowl of veg – get in my belly!

20130812-204127.jpg

I have had the naughtiest food weekend EVER! Friday was Pho68, Saturday indulged in a delicious lamb tikka masala at an Indian restaurant in my hometown, followed by crispy duck and pancakes (again) last night. As much as I loved all of it – there just wasn’t enough veg. my body has been craving it today.

My guts have also been crying out for fiber – I had the worst stomach ache today after eating bulger wheat and beans for lunch (I’m blaming the Indian) so I opted for potatoes. Did you know that potatoes have more fiber in them than brown rice? I didn’t until a few weeks ago. A poorly gut can leave lasting effects (with low fiber diets being the main cause of bowel cancer) So I had a very good helping of potatoes, in a chili-tomato mash-up with a courgette, mushrooms, shallot, garlic and peppers. I literally threw them all together and hoped for the best. You should make this if you’re in a rush. It’s delicious.

Not getting my five-a-day is horrible, especially when it’s a few days in a row. So, to top it all off, I’m overdosing on vitamins and rounding off my day with a blueberry smoothie! Yum!

What’s your favourite veg only combo?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Big bowl of veg – get in my belly!”

  1. Clare - Feast And Glory

    I always make a roast veg ‘salad’ when I’m in need of a veg out. Aubergine, courgettes, peppers, red onions, garlic and tomatoes roasted in olive oil and balsamic vinegar and served with rocket and goat’s cheese, lamb or salmon. YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

