Recipe #73: Egg fried rice

DSC_0571

Last night I was cooking for one. Dan was out playing tennis and I made it home early after narrowly missing a series of delayed trains. Phew. Although I had a craving for the feta cheese in the fridge, I ignored my hunger pangs and went for a healthy carb-filled dinner – egg fried rice.

Now I had made egg fried rice before without much luck. The last one I made, after following a recipe I should add, turned out bland – so I scrapped the cookbooks and made up a recipe on my own. My egg fried rice balanced soy, rice vinegar and Chinese five spices perfectly. If you’re looking or a speedy dinner for one, or a main meal accompaniment, I would highly recommend this.

To make it you’ll need:

  • 100g uncooked rice
  • 2 eggs
  • Handful of broccoli florets (I used frozen ones)
  • 1/2 pepper sliced into strips (again I used frozen pepper)
  • 1/2 courgette sliced into strips
  • 1 shallot onion
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1tsp soy sauce
  • 1tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 drop of sesame oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Set your rice to cook on the hob – keep a close eye on it as you want it to be cooked slightly aldente – in other words, not too well cooked.
  2. In a frying pan or wok, heat some oil and add in your chopped shallot and crushed garlic. Leave to simmer for 2 minutes.
  3. Turn up to a medium to high heat and throw in the rest of your vegetables, stirring regularly.
  4. Once your rice is cooked, drain and add to your wok or frying pan with your veg. Add in your Chinese five spice and sauces and combine well as you heat through.
  5. In a jug or bowl whisk your eggs and season well before making a well in the centre of your rice and pouring in your eggs mix – leave to cook for 1-2 minutes so that it cooks underneath, then mix into your rice.
  6. Let it settle for 30 seconds and stir, and keep repeating until all of the egg is fully cooked.
  7. Serve and enjoy!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

