Recipe #72: Easy peasy pasta dough…

972012_10152991492025024_2103995585_nUp until I was given a pasta maker as a leaving present from my last job, I had no idea how simple, easy and enjoyable making fresh pasta could be. It’s so easy to pick up a bag of penne in the supermarket and create a dish around it, without even thinking… but to make it as part of a dish is so refreshing. It tastes different – party due to the texture and party down to it’s freshness. I mush prefer fresh pasta to bought pasta and now make it ALL THE TIME!

I’ve perfected my homemade pasta dough and technique, so I thought it was high time I shared it with you.

To make it, you’ll need just two things:

  • 140g ’00’ grade or very strong white flour – this can be bought as most big supermarkets
  • 1 full egg and 1 egg yolk
  • You’ll also need a food processor and a pasta machine

Method:

  1. In a food processor add in your flour, egg and blitz for 2-3 minutes, until it looks like bread crumbs.
  2. Tip it out on to your worktop and work with your clean hands into a ball – it can be quite crumbly so keep working it until it all bonds together.
  3. Roll into a ball and wrap in cling-film and place in the fridge for 1 hour.
  4. Once chilled, split into two and flatten them with rolling pins. Using the biggest setting on your pasta machine, roll through and fold over seven times until it’s nice and shiny, gradually decreasing the size – at this point you can start working it through to your chosen thickness – then it’s ready to turn in to spaghetti or tagliatelli.
  5. Once this is done, drop into already boiling water for 4-5 minutes.
  6. Mix into or pour over your sauce and enjoy!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

5 Responses to “Recipe #72: Easy peasy pasta dough…”

  1. judilyn

    I keep threatening to do this, but so far . . . not! Maybe with your inspiration, I’ll give it a try. Can you give me a guess as to how much in cups is 140 g of flour? And what is hard flour? Semolina?

    Reply
  2. christykennard

    I just recently ventured into the land of homemade pasta. I don’t have a pasta maker, so I have stuck to ravioli and lasagna. This looks fantastic. I may need to go shopping!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

