Corned beef hash or shepherds pie?

6424540747_84022946fa_z

Dan’s cooking dinner tonight. I’ve asked him to make me a three course meal as I’m always making them for him – I’ve lost count of the number of times he’s come back from a Saturday afternoon ride to a pretty set table and fabulous dinner (that’s taken me hours to cook). He’s very lucky. I’ve felt particularly tired this week – I blame my inability to relax, so I reckon I’ve earned it… And what girl doesn’t love to be cooked for every once in a while?

When I asked Dan to cook, he jokingly asked one back; “Do you want corned beef hash or shepherds pie?” Whilst he says he was joking – I reckon he was only half joking. Dans a good cook and I know he can make more than this – but the security of a Winter meal baked in a casserole dish always wins him over – and I can see why. They’re easy to make, easy to season and ALWAYS go down well.

I have no idea what he’s going to make and I doubt he’s going to tell me until I get home. Handing over total control in the kitchen feels so alien to me and, even at 6.15 this morning when I was getting ready for work, I couldn’t help but ask what was on the menu and give him some suggestions based on what we have in… To which I reacted, “We’ll I can’t make that now you’ve told me to.” Fair point.

So a three course Friday night dinner is in Dan’s hands tonight. I’ll report back tomorrow.

Until then

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

