Recipe #71: Potato and Chorizo hash

1010075_10152967915275024_299442652_n

We all watched Andy Murray win Wimbledon last night. I’ll admit that I’m not the biggest tennis fan, I’ll watch it and play it a little (we went down to Weston Park to play the other night – I was terrible) – but the final was not to be missed.

As Andy battled and fought to win, I was trying not to burn my hash and keep a noisy washing machine quiet, whilst removing the shell from two boiled eggs. It was fun, but nerve-racking – I think I was shaking with excitement a little towards the end – my boiled eggs looked very messy!

By the time my hash was served, Andy was climbing up the sides of the court to see his team and loved ones. I can’t help but feel like my dinner was slightly overshadowed by Mr Murray… It was amazing. This hash is one of the best dishes I’ve concocted in a long time and I’d urge you to make it. A perfect blend of spices, cooled by the tomato – sorry to blow my own trumpet but it was lush!

To make this you’ll need:

  • 30-40g finely slices chorizo (I sliced mine with my Oxo Goodgrips Mandolin)
  • Enough potatoes for two people, quartered
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 courgette finely sliced
  • 1 tomato finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 eggs (optional)

Method:

  1. Chop you potatoes and boil them for 20 mins or until they are turning fluffy – ideally on a high heat.
  2. In a frying pan heat a few tablespoons of oil and add in your potatoes, onion, courgette tomato, spices and seasoning. Combine well and keep mixing every few minutes to brown you potatoes.
  3. After 5 minutes put your eggs on to boil and add in your chorizo – continuing to stir.
  4. Once your eggs are boiled and shelled, serve up your hash, cut your eggs in half and place them on top.
  5. Enjoy

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “Recipe #71: Potato and Chorizo hash”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

