Recipe #69: Healthy chocolate and blueberry muffins

1044041_10152947566910024_1202808358_n

Earlier this week I made some yummy chocolate and blueberry muffins to use up some of the ingredient I had in to make my spiced cake. Rather than using white flour, I used wholemeal to make my muffins to make them a touch healthier, and kept my cocoa to serve the same purpose.

Why wholemeal? Well I’m going bread-free for a while to see how I feel. A few weeks ago I was eating bread most days and I always felt bloated and tired – so far so good, so I’m talking this to the next level and cutting out a bit of white flour too.

They tasted yummy – so good that my boss had three of them, if not more, for breakfast the next day.

1000759_10152949743230024_280327334_n

Want to make them? You’ll need:

  • 125g self-raising wholemeal flour
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 1 egg
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp oil
  • 100ml milk
  • 1 punet of fresh blueberries

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 and grease or line a muffin tray.
  2. In a clean bowl combine all of your dry ingredients excluding you blueberries.
  3. Whisk together your milk, oil and egg and mix into your flour, cocoa powder and sugar until you have an even consistency.
  4. Fold in your blueberries and spoon into your muffing tray – these don’t rise hugely so make sure you fill each mould fully.
  5. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

Until tomorrow
Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

