Recipe #62: Sausage casserole-soup

946681_10152856843780024_330330733_n

Every now and again I make something that tastes so good, it stops me in my tracks. I don’t always plan to make something delicious… obviously I want it to taste nice, but most of the time I’m just making tea after a 12-hours on the go. This sausage casserole started out as ‘just tea’ and turned into something amazing… and I’ll be making this again, it’s that good I may even promote it to a dinner party dish.

I’m not a huge fan of pork, so I opted for beef sausages instead which worked great in this dish – although pork sausages will work just as well if you prefer.

I served it up with some pitta bread, cheese and soured cream – it was so filling, and healthy. Want to make it? Here’s what you’ll need:

Serves 2:

  • 6 beef sausages
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 pepper, sliced
  • 2 large or 3 medium cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 300 ml chicken stock
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp Lee and Perrins sauce
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs
  • 1/2 heaped tsp chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp tomato puree

Method:

  1. In a large deep pan, heat some oil and add in your sausages.  Keep turning until they are fully browned (but not burnt), this should take 8-10 minutes. Place your sausages in a bowl, leaving the oil in the pan and place it back on the hob.
  2. Add in your onion and cook for a few minutes before adding in your garlic – cook on a medium heat until the onions soften and add in your sliced pepper – cook for a few more minutes. (I chopped my veg with a new mandolin I’ve been sent by OXO – chopped superfine, it adds a great texture to this dish – much nicer that chunky veg).
  3. Pop in all of your spices, mix well and cook for a further minute before pouring over the chicken stock and chopped tomatoes and placing your sausages back in your pan. Stir in your tomato puree, cover and leave to simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. Serve up and enjoy!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

