Recipe #60: Healthy quark baked lemon cheesecake

DSC_0401

This weekend I made a baked cheesecake for the first time, without it going wrong. This is an absolute first for me, and I’m very proud of myself for making a healthy(ish), yummy cheesecake… I gave myself a big pat on the back when I tasted this.

Why quark? Well the lovely guys at the Lake District Dairy Company sent me some to try – as I said in my last blog post when I reviewed their natural quark flavour and used it in stuffed chicken, I’m really surprised at the nutritional content. It’s somewhere between a soft cheese and a yoghurt and each 30g serving has 19 calories… so using this in cheesecake is a no brainer.

DSC_0399

My baked lemon cheesecake is really easy to make and can be served with ice cream or cream – in our case I served it with some summer berries. It lasts well and can be eaten the next day too. Want to make it? You’ll need:

  • 60g digestive biscuits
  • A few dollops of butter
  • 500g of quark (I used 1 lemon and 1 vanilla flavour – they come in 250g packs)
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g caster sugar
  • a few dollops of lemon curd

Method:

  1. Place your butter in a pan on the hob and heat until it melts. At the same time, whizz your digestive biscuits in a food processor, before adding your butter until it’s fine and slightly sticky. (If you don’t have a food processor, place your biscuits in a bag and bash with a rolling pin).
  2. Cover the based of a flan dish and press down. Put this in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees and in your nice clean food processor (or a bowl if you don’t have one), add in your quark, sugar and the juice and grated rind of your lemon and whizz (or mix).
  4. Add in your eggs and mix again, before pouring this on top your biscuit base. Bake this in the oven for 40-45 minutes. It should be brown around the edges and firm with a little give in the middle.
  5. When it’s nearly done, in a pan add in your lemon curd and heat until it’s easily spreadable. Pour on top of your cheesecake and spread out with a spatula.
  6. Leave to cool for a few hours and serve up.

TIP: If you use a spring formed flan dish it will be much easier to turn out. Just make sure your go around the edges with a butter knife first to ensure it isn’t stuck around the sides.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Recipe #60: Healthy quark baked lemon cheesecake”

  1. mumshadenough

    Thanks for this. With a little tweaking, I might be able to use this recipe for a slimming world pudding. I’ve been looking for a cheesecake recipe with the lemon quark.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

