Recipe #58: Delicious homemade hummus

DSC_0379

Yesterday Dan went riding and I was recovering/battle a hayfever headache after spending the day before running around grass and trees, beating Dan at tennis and football in Buxton Pavilion Gardens. After a little walk with my friend, I came home and got to work cooking up some healthy grub to go with our burger-based tea. I went for wholemeal bread rolls with cheese, a rocket cheese and balsamic vinegar salad, and some raw carrot to dip into homemade hummus.

479732_10152832147820024_217640024_n

I’d never made hummus before – but how difficult could it be? I had chickpeas in the cupboard and garlic on the shelf… plus a few spices to add into the mix. Within ten minutes I whipped up the perfect healthy accompaniment for our ‘indoor bbq tea’.

Want to make your own hummus? It’s easy – you’ll need:

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1tsp cumin powder
  • 2 pinches of chilli powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 of a lemon – juiced
  • A food processor

Method:

  1. Drain off your chickpeas, keeping the water – place this to one side and put your chickpeas in your processor.
  2. Add in your garlic cloves and spices and mix for a minute. You’ll see that it’s quite dry, so add in your lemon juice and some of your chickpea water. Add in a tablespoon at a times as you blend it until you have a consistency your happy with.
  3. Have a quick taste and balance up the spices, plus any seasoning to suit your taste.
  4. Sprinkle some extra paprika on top if you wish and enjoy!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

4 Responses to “Recipe #58: Delicious homemade hummus”

  1. fionaward

    I applaud you. Hummus is one of those things that I think would be far tastier homemade, but I’m just too lazy to try! It looks yummy 🙂

    Reply
    • hayleyjaynefood

      Ah you should defiantly try this – and it’s one of those rare things that’s just as cheap to make at home if you have garlic and spices in already 🙂 x

      Reply
      • fionaward

        Thankfully, I always have those things. If there wasn’t at least 3 full heads of garlic in my house, I think I’d panic!

  2. jbrueff

    Oh yum – I love hummus. Lace (my wife) has been making some pretty darn good hummus, and baba ganoush too! I think I butchered the spelling there…

    I’m going to see if she’d be willing to try this out.

    Thanks Hayley!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

