I’ll never give a bad review. Here’s why.

oliver460

I need to keep tonight’s blog post short and sweet as we’re heading out soon, and I still have my hair wrapped in a towel and no make-up on – so I need to get a move on!

When I started my blog, I set out to have a positive review policy. If I don’t like something, or I have a really bad experience – I’ll keep it to myself. Not because I’m dishonest, or don’t feel that it warrants my opinion. No. My reasons are much more well considered and reflect my feeling of moral responsibility as a blogger.

Granted, I’m not very influential. However, bloggers on the whole can be incredibly influential and contribute to people’s purchasing decisions. I could well visit an independent cafe, slag it off on my blog and lose them business – the owners could have a family, young mouths to feed and could be struggling to make ends meet. I never EVER want to responsible in any way for losing people money. So everything you see on this blog is stuff I like. If I don’t like it, I won’t write about it. Simples.

Also – we’re really lucky to be able to enjoy and experiment with food. I mean, if we don’t like the taste of something we can just cast it aside and throw it away… just like that, yet people in third World countries are dying or starvation. Who am I to publicly say that I don’t like something when some people are desperate for any scrap of food they can find – it feels wrong and ungrateful. I apreciate every meal, and every opportunity I get to cook. I know how lucky I am, and I hope all other food bloggers remember this too.

Feeling generous? Donate to Unicef – I donate every month in the hope that I can provide food for a few more people, why don’t you do it too?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “I’ll never give a bad review. Here’s why.”

  1. Deva Jasheway

    I feel the same way. Any time I read yelp reviews that are really scathing I wonder why people feel the need to slam a business and claim that they are LITERALLY SATAN just because they had a negative experience. Most of the time the reviews don’t reflect a consistently bad business, just one unfortunate trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

