Recipe #46: Marvellous chocolate dipped meringues

DSC_0312

Sunday. A day reserved for resting, baking and eating said sweet treats. Last night I tackled one of my biggest fears, and whipped up a sweet bite that petrified me previously. Meringues. Tricky, gooey, hard to get right meringues. I was ready to go to war with my whisk. It was me vs eggs whites.

Now, I should tell you about the last time I made them. We didn’t own and electric whisk back then, so I asked made Dan whip them up by hand… by the time he was halfway done, he’d ripped his whisking hand to shreds and had to stop. I tried popping them in the oven, but they turned into a horrible mess. I vowed NEVER to make them again. Until last night.

I whipped them perfectly. Baked them nearly perfectly and dipped them in a scrumptious milk chocolate ganache, topped with chocolate sprinkles. Seriously, you NEED to make these – they will blow your mind. Teamed up with chocolate they are out of this World… I ate four in mere seconds and had to ask Dan take the plate away from me so I couldn’t eat anymore. They we’re more gooey than crunchy in the middle, they could have done with a touch longer… but hey, I don’t care – they tasted deelish and I made them. I can now tick meringues off my list.

Want to try them? Here’s how. You’ll need:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 1 squirt of fresh lemon juice

For the ganache

  • 100g milk chocolate
  • A glug of double cream
  • Chocolate/pretty sprinkles of your choice

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 140 degrees and line 2 baking trays.
  2. In a super clean bowl, add in your egg whites and whisk until they form peaks.
  3. Squirt in your lemon then add in your caster sugar spoon by spoon until combined – keep whisking until your mix is thick and glossy.
  4. Spoon on to your tray, one slightly heaped tablespoon per meringue.
  5. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Once done, open the oven door and allow to cool in the oven.
  6. Once fully cooled, melt your chocolate in a bowl above boiling water and stir in your cream. Place to one side to cool for a few minutes, before gently dipping in your meringues, before placing them on a plate to cool. Add your sprinkles at this stage if your wish.
  7. Leave to cool or tuck in straight away (if you impatient like me).

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Recipe #46: Marvellous chocolate dipped meringues”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

