Recipe #37: Lime and coconut cupcakes

482658_10152685559975024_1744477137_n

I wasn’t feeling too great yesterday. I knew I had a mental week at work lined up this week and my failure to relax as much as I should during my week off, meant that my body forced me to. Oooops. After watching Hocus Pocus and Sister Act 2, one after the other, I got itchy feet and decided to get up and bake some treats for the lovely Alex at work, who made me some amazing tasty rice crispy cakes for my birthday.

When it comes to cupcakes, mine never look pretty. They look homemade… unlike the baked goods made by my friend Rokhi who has just started blogging about her baking adventures.  That said, they were moist and icing has just the right amount of zest for a subtle lime kick.

To make them you’ll need:

  • 175g self raising flour
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 175g butter
  • 3 eggs
  • Zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 250g icing sugar
  • 1tbsp water
  • Desiccated coconut

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees and lay out 16 bun cases.
  2. Mix together your flour, sugar, butter, eggs and most of the zest and juice of your lime. Spoon them into your bun cases and bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes. 
  3. Mix your icing with lime juice and water and spoon onto your cakes, followed by a sprinkle of desiccated coconut.
  4. Either leave to cool or eat straight away whilst their still hot – yum!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

