Recipe #34: Creamy Boursin pasta

481174_10152652462285024_2118051708_nLast week the lovely people at Boursin sent me some delicious goodies for me to sample on my blog. The minis were opened (and devoured first)… If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll have seen that I made a red pepper pesto the other night – the minis made a perfect addition and tasted so much richer than my usual cheese topping of parmesan or Applewood.

Tonight I cracked open the Boursin light to make a delicious creamy pasta sauce. I’ve used the full fat version to make pasta sauce before and I found it very rich and maybe just a little to creamy – not only is the light version lower in fat, it tasted much lighter too, defiantly my preferred option for making pasta sauce. I teamed it up with greens, mushrooms and topped off my dish with a dollop of my leftover homemade pesto and some parmesan – It was AMAZING! Dan was very impressed and even said it was restaurant standard [so I’m feeling a little smug].

DSC_0158

Here’s how to make it. You’ll need:

  • One pack of light garlic and herb Bourisn
  • A big glug of milk
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 4-5 button mushrooms
  • 1/2 green pepper, finely chopped
  • A handful of broccoli florets (I used frozen ones)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Red pesto (you can find the recipe to my homemade red pesto here)
  • Finely grated parmesan
  • And Pasta, of course – Penne ideally

Method:

  1. Pop on your pasta first, then in a small pan heat some oil and add in your garlic, peppers, mushrooms and brocoli. Cook and stir on a medium heat for 3-4 minutes. 
  2. Add in  your Boursin and milk and cook on a medium-high heat, the amount of milk doesn’t need to be scientific – just add enough to achieve the consistency you desire. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  3. When your pasta is cooked, drain and return to the pan. Add in your pasta sauce and heat until the pasta is hot all the way through.
  4. Serve with a dollop of pesto and a sprinkling of parmesan.
  5. Enjoy

I have one pack of Bourin left – I’m thinking of teaming it up with a chicken dish, so watch this space!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “Recipe #34: Creamy Boursin pasta”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

