Recipe #33: Raspberry, coconut and white chocolate cake

DSC_0156

Tonight I was meant to be having some of my favourite ladies round for an en-mass dinner party to celebrate my birthday and belated engagement. Sadly, the silly snow had other ideas! Luckily, I have one friend who lives very close by… I don’t even need to leave our building to reach her front door. Instead of an en-mass meal I’m heading to my neighbours, in my PJs, to tuck into a chicken, pesto and Bousrin tart (which I’m really looking forward to making), cake and wine!

DSC_0146

I didn’t really set out to bake today. Being snowed in (well I could go out – Dan has – but it’s really cold), it seemed like the sensible thing to do. I decided to do something with coconut as I have loads in, and a raspberry, coconut and white chocolate cake was the idea that tempted me the most. This is a really moist and sweet cake – just the way I like it. 🙂

DSC_0144

Here’s how to make it. You’ll need:

  • 125g butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 275g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 125ml milk
  • 185 self raising flour
  • 70g desiccated coconut
  • 1 pack of fresh raspberries
  • 1 small handful of white chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees and grease/line a cake tin.
  2. Cream together your butter, sugar and vanilla essence – I used an electric whisk to make it easier. 
  3. Add in your eggs and milk until combined, then fold in your flour (sieved), coconut and raspberries.
  4. Pour into your cake tin, sprinkle your chocolate chips on top before cooking in the oven for 50-55 minutes.
  5. Leave to cool for a few minutes before turning out and serving.
  6. Enjoy!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “Recipe #33: Raspberry, coconut and white chocolate cake”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

