Recipe #33: Cooking with a Norwegian seafood delicacy

DSC_0318 Some lovely chaps at the Norwegian Seafood Council have arranged for some Skrei cod to be sent out to me for a recipe challenge on My Food Challenge – I’ve really been looking forward to trying out a new food and tonight, our Skrei, hand prepared by a chap called Eddie, forms the basis of our dinner.

After last nights rare foodie disaster, I kept it simple and followed the basis of this Booths recipe for a Skrei Tagine, without the prawns and some alterations to spices to suit what I already had in. Knowing how rare Skrei is, I was a little bit nervous about cooking with it incase something went wrong – I have to say that this recipe did my Skrei justice! Before I get round to telling you how I cooked it, I should really tell you a little bit more about this seasonal Norwegian delicacy.

What is Skrei?

Skrei is a type of cod that is line caught off the of the cold, clear coastal waters of Norway’s Lofoften Islands. This type of cod is migratory, which means that it is only available between January and April. Each year they travel to Lofoften Islands to reproduce – which is where they are line caught from small vessels.

I was pleased to hear that Skrei cod is sustainably sourced. Only 10% of the fish are caught, to ensure populations for many years, and they are only caught when they have reached adulthood (approx. 5 years) and only make it to the shelves in pristine condition.

Skrei fillet cut into chunks

Skrei fillet cut into chunks

Cooking with Skrei

Although Skrei is in the cod family of fish, it looks much more like salmon. It cuts beautifully and I wasn’t short of recipes I could try. I nearly went for pan fried Skrei with applewood mashed potatoes and greens, but then this recipe somehow seemed more worthy.

DSC_0353

To make a Skrei Tagine you’ll need:

  • 2 Skrei fillets – chopped into chunks
  • 1 shallot onoin
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 small chilli
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 medium potatoes, boiled
  • 3-4 baby corn
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tspn cumin
  • 2 pinches of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tspn paprika
  • Salt and pepper
  • Green olives
  • Juice of 1 lemon

Method

  1. Fry off your onion, garlic and ginger in a pan for 4-5 minutes. Add in your carrots, baby corn and chopped tomatoes and cook for 10 minutes.
  2. Add in your spices,  and cook for a further 3-4 minutes, then add in your potatoes and chunks of Skrei. Top up with water to cover then cook for 7-8 minutes. 
  3. Drizzle with lemon and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Serve and enjoy!

If you can get your hands on some Skrei, I’d well recommend it. There’s not many recipes online for cooking Skrei, but a cod recipe would do just as well.

How would you cook Skrei?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Recipe #33: Cooking with a Norwegian seafood delicacy”

  1. Cooking Simple Vegetables

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

