Recipe #27: Heavenly hazelnut cake [review]

374499_10152571394065024_588084888_n

So, tomorrow we’re having an agency Bake Off competition to raise money for Child Action North West, our charity of the year. As we’re out for dinner this evening, I baked my entry last night. A huge fan of chocolate and hazelnut, I decided I’d find a recipe to combine the two. This is a sneak preview of a my night’s work. I’ll let you see the rest of my cake tomorrow :).

Now I’m going to be honest here – I’m not a great baker. Many a time I’ve attempted cakes and they’ve either not risen, risen too much or fallen apart out of the mould. This is usually my own fault, as I don’t always follow the recipe properly. Last night, I took the advice of Azelia’s Kitchen – a wonderful food blog I couldn’t recommend more, and made her light hazelnut sponge with chocolate ganache.

At first glance I felt overwhelmed as there’s lots of steps. I found that laying out my ingredients, doing as much preparation as possible and taking my time helped. Roasting the hazelnuts was fun and the smell of them as I ground them in my processor was to die for. Azelia’s kitchen includes pictures of each stage, so it was easy to see when my mix was right and where I could potentially go wrong.

The ganache was much easier to lay on my cake than I thought it would be too. I was a little concerned that if it was too hot it would run the risk of seeping into the cake. I left both my cake and my ganache long enough for this not to happen. I decorated my hazelnut sponge with some Thornton’s chocolates, my surplus hazelnuts and a dusting of cocoa powder. I really does smell delicious – I’m sooooo excited to dig into tomorrow once our agency cake competition has been judged!

Want to make it? You should. I’ll list the ingredients you need here, then direct you over to Azelia’s Kitchen so she can guide you through how to make it.

  • 150 grams hazelnuts – ideally skinned and toasted. It’s cheaper to buy them unskinned, there’s some instructions on how to toast and skin them on Azelia’s blog
  • 200 grams of soft butter (left at warm room temperature). If you’re using unsalted butter, Azelia advises to have some salt to hand too.
  • 150 grams of caster sugar
  • 4 eggs separated
  • 160 grams of plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 3-4 tablespoons of milk

Go your ingredients ready? Meet Azleia’s Kitchen!

Look out for pictures of our agency bake-off tomorrow night.

Hayley Jayne xx

8 Responses to “Recipe #27: Heavenly hazelnut cake [review]”

  1. Fiona

    Looks delicious Hayley! Really enjoying reading your blog! Was watching ‘Two Greedy Italians’ the other day and one of the best foodie programmes I’ve seen for a while, so if you haven’t already seen it try get it watched xx

    Reply
  2. The Versatile Blogger Award | Mad About Baking

    […] It was in fact the lovely Hayley Toothill that inspired me to start my food blog after following her wonderful blog, My Food Challenge. Hayley has challenged herself to cook, eat and blog her way through 2013 with everything from almond and basil pesto to heavenly hazelnut cake! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

