Recipe #26: Bulgar wheat & parmesan stuffed peppers

peppers

Ah, Sundays. My favourite day of the week. I get to spend my afternoon buying food, reading about food, cooking food and blogging about food. Perfect.

Today I’ve made something totally new, using one of the ‘superfood’ ingredients we picked up the other week – bulgar wheat! I found the basis of the recipe here and adapted it to suit what I had in the cupboard. It’s a really easy recipe and I can’t believe I have’t made it already. It’s versatile too – which means that you can chop and change the flavours, include different vegetables and try it with any cheese you like.

I served ours with some salad and left over bulgar wheat. It may not look much on the plate, but it’s very filling!

pepper 2

To make it you’ll need:

Two peppers
A cup of bulgar wheat
1 white onion, finely chopped
1/2 courgette, finely chopped
1 can of chopped tomatoes
1 cup of water
Parsley
Oregano
Salt
Pepper
Parmesan cheese, finely grated

How to make it:

  1. In a deep pan, heat a glug of oil and add your onions and courgettes. Cook for two minutes to let them soften. Add in your bulgar wheat, stir in the oil then add your chopped tomatoes and water. 
  2. Cook for ten minutes and stir regularly. Add in your herbs and spices and leave to cool for 5 minutes.
  3. Chop your peppers in half and deseed, being careful not to chop off the tops. Scoop in your bulgar wheat and sprinkle over your parmesan. Place them on a baking tray, making sure they are upright.
  4. Cook in the middle of the oven for 35 minutes at 160 degrees.
  5. Serve up and enjoy!

See I told you it was super simple! What’s your favourite stuffed pepper recipe?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

6 Responses to “Recipe #26: Bulgar wheat & parmesan stuffed peppers”

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    Didn’t realise bulgur wheat is a ‘superfood’. And I only started to stuff certain veg recently! What took me so long?? They’re so easy to prep and cook, and so good for using up cupboard stables. Love it!

    Reply
    • hayleyjaynefood

      Neither did I until I had a look online – it’s full of protein and vitamins, I feel great after it – I’ll be having it instead of rice when I can, made up with some stock and veg, it should be yummy! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

