The things I love and hate about starting out as a food blogger…

18

I wouldn’t call myself an expert food blogger, at all. I’ve only been blogging about food for 42 days (I have blogged everyday, without fail though) and in that time I’ve learnt first hand what happens when you become a food blogger, the good and the bad.

In the main I love being a food blogger. Here are the things I love about my new found passion and challenge to blog about food every day:

  • It’s a perfect excuse to hunt down and make up new recipes.
  • I keep discovering new ingredients… can you believe I’d never cooked with an aubergine before until last weekend? Madness.
  • Blogging about food makes me think so much more about what I eat and the things I put in my body
  • People want to help. I’ve had so many kinds words, tips and recipe ideas from people – some people have even set me challenges (including the perfect roast tomato sauce and completing a 15-minute meal, in 15 minutes). I’ve also had some wonderful presents, including a moleskine recipe journal and some kitchen gadgets.
  • Some people even give me food… I’m now a magnet for people who’ve made things. I’m no food expert so I’ll never criticise someone’s home cooking – I think most things are delicious.
  • I get to help people discover easy recipes – I’ve had a few people tell me they’ve tried one of my recipes and really enjoyed it. If I can get more people cooking, I feel like this blog is worth it!
  • We’re having loads of dinner parties.
  • I’m meeting new people who love food as much as I do.
  • Our kitchen always smells good. Like a proper kitchen should.

Now, on to the perils of being a food blogger. It takes hard work, grit and will power to be a food blogger, ya know – especially a blogger that blogs everyday. Here’s some of the challenges I’ve faced so far in My Food Challenge:

  • I keep finding foods I like, and I want to eat them all the time – which isn’t great for my waist line. 
  • I’ve been baking more and eating more butter and refined sugar, which is playing havoc with my skin.
  • Blogging everyday is hard. I have to fit it around working, seeing friends, sleeping, eating, reading, exercising and seeing Dan. Most of our weekends revolve around food, so I have lots to blog about the following week.
  • I’ll never been the best blogger in the World. There’s so many incredible food bloggers, in Sheffield and in the World – with beautiful photography and finely crafted websites – my shiny WordPress template will never compete.
  • I cook food, I plate up food, I photograph food. Sometimes I’ll get out my Nikon and spend 2-3 minutes snapping away… I then have to eat my food quickly, before it gets cold.
  • EVERYONE THINKS I”M A GOOD COOK. I’m not. I don’t blog everything I make. Sometimes things go wrong and I’m a terrible (awful) baker. The whole point of this blog is for me to get better and understand more about food.
  • Some people think it’s strange when they see me taking pictures of food in a restaurant (sorry, sorry, sorry).

So, if you’re thinking of becoming a food bogger or starting a food challenge – it’s loads of fun, but it takes time, you have to take pictures before you eat and everyone thinks your amazing cook. If you’re game – I’d say go for it!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “The things I love and hate about starting out as a food blogger…”

  1. Vinny Grette

    I’d say you’ve pretty well nailed – good, bad and ugly! You might not believe it but I have the “good” picture that matches up with “bad” you’ve shown us here. If there’s an email for you, I’ll send it along 🙂

    Reply
  2. The Weary Chef

    I’m new at this too, having posted my first “real” post on January 27th. I feel like blogging tends to take over my life sometimes! I do not publish something every day, but I do post seven recipes every weekend with 2-3 bonus posts in between. Every day I am thinking about what recipes I can try, how I will write about them, and taking photos every chance I get. I’m also trying to promote my work and meet other bloggers, which takes even more time than planning and writing it seems! I am energized by what I have started but exhausted at the same time. It is nice to see your post and know that I’m not the only one in this boat.

    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS