Recipe #22: Jammy ‘frickin’ dodgers…

25921_10152539010990024_1375876907_n

I didn’t have any money to buy Dan a Valentine’s present, so instead I made him some Valentines biscuits. They should have been girly and love heart shaped ones, but I don’t have a love heart shaped cookie cutter (they’re on the list), so instead I made round ones. He didn’t mind – they were red in the middle and homemade… that’s kinda romantic, I suppose.

When I think of Jammie Dodgers, I always think about Two Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps. Jonny, one of the main characters was OBSESSED with Jamie Dogers. You must have seen it – they made a 90’s style pop video about it. Anyhoo, I digress.

Back to my biscuits. They are easy to make, if not a tad fiddly when you’re trying to cut out the hole in the middle. I also didn’t leave quite enough room for them to expand, so some of them stuck together, but not too much that I wasn’t able to prize them apart. They still looked and tasted amazing!

Here’s how to make them. You’ll need:

225g butter
125g caster sugar (I was running low so I used half caster and half normal)
350g self raising flour
Big pinch of salt
Jam of your choice
Cookie cutters and something small and round to cut out the whole in the middle (I washed and used the bottle top from my almond extract – be resourceful. 

Method:

  1. Mix the sugar and butter together, add flour mixed with the salt and work together with your hands. I found that mine was a tad too dry so I added a little more butter, do this or add flour if it’s too wet until your dough is fairly dry but holds together. Wrap in cling film and cool in the fridge for 30 mins. 
  2. Line a baking tray with baking parchment. Roll out your dough on a floured surface to half a cm thick and use your cookie cutter to cut out circles. In every other circle, cut out the middle. Tip: I rolled my dough out bit by bit to stop it from sticking, flouring the surface again each time round. Much easier.
  3. Cook in the oven for 10 minutes and transfere onto a wire rack to cool.
  4. When ready, pair them up. Add jam onto the side without the whole, stick on the side with the whole and there you have it. A giant frickin jammy dodger.

Next time I’m trying them with lemon curd or blueberry jam. Yum.

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Recipe #22: Jammy ‘frickin’ dodgers…”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

