Recipe #21: Stuffed date, cheese and bacon nibbles

Arghh! It’s snowing again – where has all this white stuff come from? Our apartment is freezing and all I want to do is get in the kitchen and cook to keep warm. Before I do that, it’s time for tonight’s blog post.

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged this recipe yet! When Dan’s parents came for dinner last weekend I made some lovely stuffed date starters that went down a real treat with the in-laws. I found the recipe after looking for things I coud make with dates. It uses just three ingredients that, when combined, make a beautiful sweet but savory appetizer, starter or accompaniment. Yum.

578094_10152522207995024_1905904386_nWe used the smoked goats cheese we bought from The Cheese Society in Lincoln the other week. It’s so strong that you only need to use a little bit. We have half a chunk in the fridge and I’m still deciding how to use. Oh and the other ingredients; I got the dates from the baking isle at Morrisons and the streaky bacon from Tesco.

I love this recipe so much that it was the first recipe to be featured in my lovely Moleskine Recipe Journal, which was given to me as a lovely present from someone at work. I’m filling it with all the lovely recipes I find along the way – only my most favourite. This being one of them!

69633_10152533876835024_809132771_nNow back to the recipe. You’ll need:

Dates
Smoked hard goats cheese
Streaky bacon

Method:

  1. Cut your dates down one side so you can open them up and expose the middle. Cut your goats cheese into small blocks, stuff inside your dates and close them again (or as much as you can). 
  2. Wrap each date individually in bacon, one strip of streaky bacon per date.
  3. Cook in the oven at 180 degrees for 15-20 mins, or until the bacon is cooked.
  4. Serve and enjoy (I served mine with cheese and chutney).

What’s your favourite recipe to make with dates?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

2 Responses to “Recipe #21: Stuffed date, cheese and bacon nibbles”

  1. DouglasMB

    Looks great!! I love this I will deffinatly follow you, I kinda made my way to blog about food a few times a week too, cooking my way through a Ramsay cookbook. i wish you the best good luck!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

