Recipe #20: When it comes to breakfast, Nigella knows best!

Last week I was speaking to a colleague at work, who told me about eggs in purgatory! Even the name is amazing, right? As we chatted, I googled the recipe and emailed it to myself. Luke told me that him and his partner make it regularly – he said it was a perfect weekend breakfast. It’s a meal for those who love to share and eat from a piping hot pan! Yes please! From then on, it was high up on my list of meals to make.

On Sunday, me and Dan woke up to a fr-r-r-r-reezing cold apartment. Outside it couldn’t decide whether it wanted to rain, sleet or snow. It was one of those write-off Sundays where you couldn’t really do anything, without spending anything, because it was so darn cold, wet and miserable.

When we managed to pull ourselves away from the warmth of our multiple layers of duvets, I hit the kitchen to cook up a feast I know would make us feel better. I’d been looking forward to making this recipe all week – it was time for Nigella’s eggs in purgatory!

377640_10152527338440024_152570182_n

This dish is so easy to make and uses a few key ingredients; canned chopped tomatoes, eggs, garlic, and chilli. I didn’t have all the ingredients in – chilli flakes and parmesan, so I freestyled it and used chilli powder and held off on cheese for a healthier option. If you want to see how to make the Nigella recipe first hand, look here as the way I cooked it was slightly different. If you want to know how to make the dish above – read on!

You’ll need:

  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tspn of chilli powder
  • Drizzle of oil
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • Pinch of sage
  • Pinch of rosemary
  • Good helping of cracked pepper
  • Salt
  • Toasted bread to dip with

Method:

  1. Drizzle oil into a frying pan and when it’s hot, fry your garlic and chilli for a minute or two, then add your chopped tomatoes.
  2. Bring your tomato to the bubble and add your seasonings, making sure you tastes it before you add your eggs to make sure you’re happy with it.
  3.  Drop one or two eggs into centre of the pan, the bubbling tomato sauce should poach them. 
  4. Serve in the pan with warm bread.

What’s your favourite Sunday breakfast?

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

14 Responses to “Recipe #20: When it comes to breakfast, Nigella knows best!”

      • lovefromnatalie

        I can’t wait! Its going to be a midnight snack at this rate haha 🙂 I’m currently going though all your old posts like a crazy stalker, i genuinely love your blog! xxxx

      • hayleyjaynefood

        Thank you so much! Blogging everyday for a whole year… I must be mad! If you can think up any food challenges I ought to try, do let me know 🙂 xx

      • lovefromnatalie

        Yeah I noticed, very impressive! I’d say the ultimate challenge is to do a Jamie Oliver 30min meal in 30mins! Ive only succeeded once, they usually take me an hour haha! xxx

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    -It’s such a great way of cooking eggs. The first time I ate this it was cooked by a housemate from Barcelona, where it’s cooked in a similar way. Delish!
    -Thanks for the follow, BTW,

    Reply
    • hayleyjaynefood

      It’s now a Sunday morning tradition to have this for breakfast with fresh bread! Yum! You too, I LOVE your blog and food photography! Looking forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

      Reply
  2. week's best grocery deals

    Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    Reply
  3. Shirley

    Thanks for finally talking about >Recipe #20: When it comes to breakfast, Nigella knows best!
    | My Food Challenge <Liked it!

    Reply
  4. decorative hand towels

    Greetings! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

