Dr. Food! It’s time for my therapy…

tumblr_m762pwLNrm1rq1wr5o1_500

Tonight is the first night I’ve sat down with My Food Challenge blog without a concrete idea of what I want to write about. Usually I spend my day mulling over recipe ideas in-between writing features and Social Media-ing, or I come up with a topic idea that I’m itching to get home and type up.

It’s not because I don’t have anything to write about – God no, I’ve got a huge notes page in my iPhone dedicated to blog posts I’ve got lined up. It’s just that I feel so relaxed. My typically anxious and racing mind is oddly tranquil and I’m making the most of it, it’s so rare.

Over the past six months it’s safe to say that food and writing have collectively become my therapy. Only last year I was really struggling to keep my feelings of anxiety under control and I was regularly feeling down and depressed.  I was coming out of the other side of some pretty tough stuff and working through my past was proving a challenge. Somehow, our new apartment and our lovely (bigger) kitchen provided me with a place in which I could create something. With each tasty dish, or new ingredient discovered, came a feeling of confidence I’d long since lost. My love of food is about so much more than what I present on a plate… it’s the head space it gives me to think about my life and all the things within it.

Lots of people ask me why I started this blog. There’s a few reasons. Firstly I work in Social Media and I want to keep my finger on the pulse of what’s happening in the bloggersphere. Secondly I love writing and wanted to write for me. Thirdly, I want to get better at writing… the only way to improve how you write, is to write. Fourthly, I bloody love food. Finally,I wanted to find myself – after watching Julie and Julia and seeing how the character, Julie, found herself through food and blogging, I wanted to see if I could do the same too.

Dan made a comment the other day when I was baking – he commented on how relaxed I am when I’m working away in the kitchen. All the things that wind me up in other parts of my life (like not being able to find something in a messy cupboard) don’t faze me one bit when I’m cooking. Since starting my blog just over a month ago and having a reason to immerse myself in food, I’ve seen a huge difference in myself, my moods and my confidence. Just last year someone told me I should spend more time doing something I love… having taken their advice I’ve realised that it’s an amazing outlet and it makes me feel properly happy!

Tonight I’ve cooked a chorizo and mushroom risotto and I have some dough rising as I type, ready to make some focaccia for my lovely friend.

What can I say – food is my shrink, food is my therapy. If you’re having a bad day, just cook! It will make you feel a million times better 🙂

Hayley Jayne xx

3 Responses to “Dr. Food! It’s time for my therapy…”

  1. Great Authors by 10 Day Book Club

    Bloody WRITE idea. Glad you are writing to your heat’s content. You have a great blog. I want to turn you on to our editing book clubs. Not sure if you are currently publishing…but they are a great way to get an editor’s feedback at a really good price. Less than $15 per day now through February 10. Apply for more info. http://10daybookclub.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

