Recipe #16: Lovely lemon drizzle cake

DSC_0055

My lemon drizzle cake is in the oven as I type. I’m off out in half an hour for my bosses leaving do and we have a dinner party tomorrow, so Dan cooked a stir fry for tea, whilst I quickly whipped up a lush lemon cake mix. Now, I’m frantically typing it up on my blog before I dash out of the door to catch up with the merry 2020 bunch – I don’t want to miss out on all the fun.

To accompany my lemon drizzle cake tomorrow, I’m cooking our friends Fera and Rich a butternut and feta, as Fera mentioned my tart post a while ago – so I thought I should make her one. It will no doubt be washed down with too much wine, and followed by good chatter and general silliness.

Now I should be honest. I was going to make salted caramel pies… but I bought creme freche instead of double cream – so the lemon cake was my second choice. However, it’s been on my list of cakes to try for a while. I can’t give you a verdict yet… but it smells delicious.

DSC_0053Here’s how to make it, you’ll need:

Enough butter for greasing
200g plain flour
2tspn baking powder
200g caster sugar
4 eggs
150 ml soured cream
Grated rind of one lemon
4 tbspn of lemon juice (or juice from one lemon) 
150ml sunflower oil

To make the syrup:

4tbsp icing sugar (I didn’t have any so I used caster sugar) 
2tbsp lemon juice

Method:

  1. Add your flour, sugar and baking powder into a bowl and place to one side. 
  2. Mix your eggs, lemon rind, lemon juice, soured cream and oil in a separate bowl. Add to your flour and sugar and mix until consistent.
  3. Place in your greased cake tin and place in the oven at 180 degrees for 40-60 minutes.
  4. To make your drizzle, place your lemon juice and sugar into a pan and simmer until it thickens.
  5. As soon as you take your cake out of the oven, prick it with a fork and pour over your syrup. Leave in your cake tin until cooked completely and then remove and serve (I know it’s tempting… but letting it cool will stop it crumbling and your syrup running when you take it out).

Enjoy…

Hayley Jayne xx

4 Responses to “Recipe #16: Lovely lemon drizzle cake”

  1. Eugenio Pinzino

    Every occasion has a cake to celebrate its festivity. Gourmet cakes come in a number of varieties and a large variety of usable ingredients. Gourmet cakes usually compliment special occasions like weddings, farewells, anniversaries, ceremonies, birthdays, etc. This is not the only use a cake can be put to. Cakes can be served with everyday meals as tasty deserts. But cake making is not an easy thing. People are always puzzled on how to make a cake that looks perfect and tastes great whether it’s have had as an everyday desert or gourmet cake. If you are still wondering on how to make a cake, simply take our experienced suggestion. Different recipe of cake are available online on different food related websites or blogs for free. You can also take advice on how to make a cake from an experienced source like your mother or grandmother or whosoever has been an expert in recipe of cake.^

    My website
    <",http://www.caramoan.co/caramoan-hotels/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

