Recipe #15: Popcorn, pecan and choc chip cookies

DSC_0933Last night, myself and the lovely Hannah H had a dinner date so we could swap life stories and share some of our cookies. Having heard about her baking skills and culinary reputation, I knew I had to bake up something pretty special to impress. So I went all out and made some popcorn, pecan and chocolate chip cookies. I was rather proud of them.

I found a recipe after searching for popcorn cookie recipes. Having had so much fun popping corn on Friday, me and my frugal thinking lead me to figure out how else I could use them. In Hannah’s own words, before she’d even tasted them she said that they ‘smell like the cinema’. Oh and they’re so easy to make. Just a standard cookie mixture and some tasty additions.

DSC_0929

To make them, you’ll need:

115g of butter 
130g caster sugar
130g plain flour
1/2 tspn baking soda
1 egg
1 tspn vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
Three handfuls of crushed popcorn
One handful of crushed pecans
One small handful of choc chips

Method:

  1. Cream together your butter and sugar in a bowl, then beat in the egg and vanilla extract. 
  2. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt and mix into the butter cream mixture. Slow add your tasty ingredients.
  3. Spoon out on a lightly greased baking sheet a good few cms apart (I used two trays). Cook at 180 degrees for 13-15 minutes.
  4. Leave to cook on a wire rack and enjoy (with a glass of cold milk).

As I blog, I’m enjoying Hannah’s delicious apple and cinnamon bakes – that girl can bake! Swapping baked treats is so much fun!

What’s your favourite unusual cookie recipe? Comment below and I’ll see if I can give it a try 🙂

Hayley Jayne xx

4 Responses to “Recipe #15: Popcorn, pecan and choc chip cookies”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

