Recipe #14: Super speedy mushroom stroganoff

DSC_0908When I was a teenager, I couldn’t eat mushrooms. They gave me terrible stomach ache, so I avoided them for years and missed them dearly. Over time I started to re-introduce them to my food shop and now I go through at least one pack of them every week. Mushrooms are one of my favourite vegetables and I’d say this is the best dish I’ve ever made with them.

I’m kicking myself as I wish I’d taught myself how to make this earlier – it’s so easy, anyone could make it. From following this recipe, I’ve learnt that it’s all about the timings and not getting ahead of yourself. If you stick to the five minutes allocated without the stock and with the stock, your stroganoff will be perfect and your mushrooms will be neither undercooked or over cooked.

This dish is a perfect just-home-from-work-and-need-food-fast dish, or with some chicken or beef makes a wonderful main meal for a mid-week dinner party. If you’ve never made stroganoff before, DO IT. You will not be disappointed.

DSC_0903

Here’s the recipe, you’ll need:

Olive oil 
Onion (I used shallots)
2 garlic cloves
1 tbsp paprika
Mixture of mushrooms (closed cup and chestnut)
150ml beef stock
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
3 tbsp sour cream
1 tspn parsley
Cooked rice – the recipe suggests wild rice, I used normal rice

Method:

  1. Finely chop your onions and fry off in the oil in a non stick frying pan for 5 minutes. Add your crushed garlic and paprika and cook for a minute, then add your mushrooms, mix well and cook for five minutes. 
  2. Add your worcestershire sauce to your beef stock, add into the frying pan and cook for five minutes.
  3. Take off the heat, add the soured cream and place back on a very low heat to ensure it is well heated.
  4. Serve with rice and enjoy.

Make sure you let me know how you get on. Until tomorrow,

Hayley Jayne xx

5 Responses to “Recipe #14: Super speedy mushroom stroganoff”

      • paulettemotzko

        Everybody on Facebook seems to like it too!

        I could add a feature on either of the two for recipes that are EASY and FAST and DELICIOUS. You can be a regular contributor to it if you like.

        For each recipe you put on either of my sites nearly 1300 people will see it, which are my followers, subscribers and people I share it with.

  1. wowbanger

    mm nice. beef strog was the first dish my wife made for me just afterI met her. We’vebeen married a long time. Neverunderestimate howfar alittle bit of beef strog will go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

