Recipe #7: Homemade sweet and sour sauce

543198_10152394586050024_1578831210_n

In my blog post yesterday I told you all about the oriental themed dinner party we’re hosting tomorrow for our neighbours. I wanted to make everything (or as much as I possible could) from scratch. With so much to make, tonight was prepping night. After cooking up a storm and changing the layout of my blog, I’m ready to post my first recipe from the night. My favourite Chinese sauce.

When I Googled recipes for homemade sweet and sour sauce, I was surprised at just how easy it is to make. With just five simple ingredients (watered down a touch), you can make a super delish sauce. Tomorrow night my sauce will be accompanied egg fried rice, plus there’ll be an addition hoisin noodle dish to choose from. I can’t wait!

When sweet and sour sauce is homemade, it’s much darker and tastes less gloopy and synthetic. It does take some tasting and adding sugar and soy as you go along to get the sweet vs sour balance right. Oh and once you’ve put your cornflour in, don’t leave it on the hob for too long… it get’s thick pretty quick.

This is my second attempt and I ‘think’ I’ve nailed it. Here’s how I made it…

2045_10152394792800024_1597952548_nIngredients (to start with):

1/3 cup of rice vinegar
4 tablespoons of brown sugar
1 heaped tablespoon of ketchup
1 teaspoon of soy sauce
1/3 cup of water
2 teaspoons of cornflour

Method:

  1. Place everything, with the exception of cornflour, into a pan, bring to the boil and whisk 
  2. Once mixed through, start to taste your sauce and add sugar, soy and, if you wish, a teeny tiny drop of sesame oil to get the balance of sweet and sour just how you like it
  3. Once you’re happy, add your cornflour and mix with a whisk until it thickens…
  4. Either serve straight away or pop it in the fridge for a few days.

Serving suggestions:

This sweet and sour sauce could be used as a stir fry sauce with chicken, veg, noodles or rice. It also makes a great dipping sauce.

Enjoy

Hayley-Jayne xx

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

