Recipe #2: Super healthy banana, blueberry and wheatgerm muffins

430955_10152370519925024_1366376475_n

It’s New Years Day and me and Dan are both craving something sweet (but healthy). I wanted to do something with wheatgerm and banana, so I hit Google up and found this handy recipe on litebite.in. Wheatgerm is filled with iron and it usually makes me feel less guilty about the tasty treats I make and eat.

We also had some discount blueberries left from our walk today which were all squishy and pulped after being in Dan’s backpack, so we threw them in too and hoped for the best. Oh and we didn’t have any yoghurt, so I used milk and low fat cream cheese instead.

As I type, our muffins are in the oven and we’re praying for the best. Here’s the recipe…

Ingredients:

  • Mushed banana and blueberries
  • 1 cup flour (the litebite recipe says to use wholewheat, I cheated and used plain flour – it’s all I have in)
  • 1/2 cup wheatgerm
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used caster sugar)
  • 1/2 cup yoghurt (we had non in so I used 1/2 of milk and a big spoon of cream cheese)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • The recipe also said to use 1/4 of oil and choc chips… but I thought this was a bit unhealthy so I missed them out

Method:

  1. Mush up your banana and blueberries and add to your flour, wheatgerm, baking powder, sugar and mix. 
  2. Add your milk, cream cheese and mix until it’s smooth.
  3. Spoon into muffin cases about 2/3 of the way full, I use silicon ones as they’re better for the environment, less wasteful and you don’t have to buy new ones each time round.
  4. Place in the oven at 180 degrees for 20 minutes or until they look ready.
  5. The recipe says to leave them to cool for 20 minutes, we won’t be waiting that long… we’ll be eating them while they’re hot!

The verdict…

The litebite.in recipe is right about leaving them to cool. We tried one straight out of the oven and it was all mushy and gooey, the flavours were delish but the texture was odd. After 20 mins when the muffins are cool, the moisture disappears and you’re left with wonderfully moorish and reasonably healthy muffins. I shall be baking these again.

What’s your favourite healthy muffin treat?

Hayley-Jayne x

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

