Inspired by Julie and Julia

bb678992536f579a_juliejulia

It’s the 1st of January 2013 and I’m starting a new blog, inspired by the film Julie and Julia, with the very best intentions of sticking it out til the end. Here goes…

If you haven’t seen the film Julie and Julia, it follows the journey of Julia Child, a want-to-be cook, as she moves across Europe with her husband, a US government worker, as she writes a cook book entitled ‘Mastering the art of French cooking’. It shows her learning the art of French cooking at a competitive Parisian cookery school and finding herself through the art of food. Unable to find a guide to French cooking for the everyday American anywhere in Paris, she decides to write one, alongside two other French foodies. It revolutionised the way Americans looked at food and inspired millions.

Alongside this, the film also follows the story of Julie, a government worker living above a pizzeria in the suburbs of New York. She’s lost in amongst a sea of painstaking insurance work and the careers of her friends blossoming before her eyes. Feeling stuck and in need of an outlet, she combines two of her passions; food and writing, setting herself a mammoth challenge to make all of the 524 recipes in Julia Child’s cook book ‘Mastering the art of French cooking’ in just 365 days.

Not only does Julie complete each and every recipe, she finds herself through her love for food. I really related to Julie’s character in the film. I never stick things out and I always start things without finishing them. I also love cooking, baking and writing… but I know very little about food. I couldn’t tell you the difference between a tarte and a torte, a rump steak and a sirloin steak and I don’t know a quiche from a flan. Starting today, the 1st January 2013, I want to explore one of the things that makes me truly happy… my love of food.

From my kitchen in our one bedroom apartment in the suburbs of Sheffield, England, I will test and try out recipes, detailing my trails and tribulations on this blog. I’ll explore my relationship with food, find out what the difference between a tarte and a torte really is and cook my way to culinary indulgence. My master tasters will be my fiance, my friends and my collegues at work… but only one of them knows I’m writing this blog. I’d like to keep it a secret for now…

I hope you can join me on my food journey?

Hayley-Jayne x

4 Responses to “Inspired by Julie and Julia”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

