Recipe #32: Pimiento Piquillo [red pepper] Pesto

DSC_0019

I haven’t blogged a recipe for a while. Mainly because I’ve been so bloody busy and I’ve barely spent any time in our kitchen. Finally, after a crazy week of birth (I should clarify that this was my week of birth), I’m back to home cooking – the thing that I do best! Tonight our friends Rokhi and Tom are battling through the snow to come have dinner with us, so I thought I’d do something special and use some of the goodies the lovely chaps at Fragata sent to me…

DSC_0011

These are Pimiento Piquillo Peppers, by the Spanish food brand Fragata. It’s safe to say that I am well and truly hooked. I’d already tried some of them in a pasta mix earlier in the week and I was very impressed  – the flavours are so rich, and someone on Twitter said they are great blended into tomato pasta sauce, so I thought I’d go one better and make them into a rich pesto. From  now on, I am NEVER buying pesto again…

DSC_0026

Here’s how to make it. You’ll need:

  • 50g pine nuts
  • 40g parmesan cheese
  • Small bunch of basil leaves
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 100-120g of Pimiento Piquillo by Fragata (approx half a jar)
  • A small glug of olive oil

I don’t even need to list the stages it’s that easy. Throw them all into a blender and whizz for a minute or two, until you have the perfect pesto consistency. You may wish to add a dash of salt but I think it’s just right without.

You could eat this pesto with anything. Tonight I’m cooking it with pasta, mixed with olives and roasted peppers, which will provide the perfect bed for some Skrei fish, which I hope to pan fry. You could cook it on chicken, use it on a panini or sandwich, mix it in risotto and so much more.

(I’m not just saying this because they sent it to me for review, I’m being 100% honest) You MUST try these peppers… I’m now addicted!

Until tomorrow

Hayley Jayne xx

4 Responses to “Recipe #32: Pimiento Piquillo [red pepper] Pesto”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 350 other followers

